sunday album review

Sunday Album Review – Hallucinogen by Kelela

Am I late on finding out about Kelela? Embarrassingly so. Will that stop me from writing this? Of course not.

I saw Kelela being covered by Dazed, and her stunning style encouraged me to listen to her music. Her soulful vocals placed over hypnotic beats have launched her into my all time favorite artists, and I am recommending her to everyone that I can.

Review Criteria

The Artist and their album EP name: Kelela – Hallucinogen

Heard of/listened to before? No and no.

What I did while listening: Laundry. Exciting, I know.

Better suited for: Everything, do everything and anything while listening to her music. Dance to it, vibe to it, do your laundry to it.

Top 3 Songs

1. A Message

2. Rewind

3. The High

Favorite Lyric:

“I won’t shed a tear/

’cause water works are easy”

from A Message

The EP only had six tracks, and to be honest it was difficult to narrow it down because I loved it in its entirety.

Songs and musical artists this reminds me of:

SBTRKT – Wildfire

Disclosure ft. Mary J. Blige – F for You

Would I recommend it?

Yes, her vocals are phenomenal, you can feel the beat internally and it combines to be a musical experience. I am listening to her mixtape soon, and I absolutely cannot wait to see her at Afropunk.

Listen on Spotify or Tidal.

HEADER IMAGE BACKGROUND VIA UNSPLASH
Leave a Reply

