sunday album review

Sunday Album Review – The Heart Speaks in Whispers by Corinne Bailey Rae

Hearing Corinne Bailey Rae’s voice on this new album was like hearing an old friend. I  missed her visuals, her spirit, and her absolutely gorgeous hair. Her music has always been on my go-to list when I needed to embrace some Carefree Black Girl vibes. I listened to bits and pieces of the album when it came out, but since making this column I really wanted to give my undivided attention and appreciate each and every song.

Review Criteria

The Artist and their album name: Corinne Bailey Rae – The Heart Speaks in Whispers

Heard of/listened to before? Yes, and yes! I have loved both of her past albums – Put Your Records On is THE Carefree Black Girl Anthem, Closer gives me chills, and Paris Nights/New York Mornings always makes me want to grab my passport and go.

Her cover of Is This Love has to be mentioned too, just because.

What I did while listening: Redesigned my job’s website.

Better suited for: Growing your hair out, buying a bouquet of sunflowers, pretending to be a hopeless romantic instead of a raging cynic.

Top 3 Songs

Picking 3 songs was so difficult because I absolutely loved this album. I usually pick next weeks album out in advance, and I haven’t because I’m still listening to this one.

1. Been To The Moon

The visuals in this music video and her vocals in this song gave me pure unadulterated afro-futuristic life.

giphy
via GIPHY

Like, let’s talk about that gold jumpsuit. Expect future posts with styling inspirations from this video.

2. Tell Me

I love the backing track and back-up vocals in this track, its such a funky track.

3. Stop Where You Are

The lyrics and story in this song are so earnest and beautiful that I had to include this in my top 3. The music video is gorgeous and absolutely touching.

Favorite Lyric:

“And the crowd is so loud/
It feels like they’ll drown you out/
And the waves crash down/
And there’s chaos all around/
Don’t let your mind rest on violence, violence, violence”

from The Skies Will Break, which you also need to check for stunning visuals.

Songs and musical artists this reminds me of:

Lianne La Havas – Unstoppable

AlunaGeorge – Your Drums, Your Love

Would I recommend it?

Yes, if you are growing out your hair, trying to have a carefree summer, are a hopeless romantic, or some combination, you really should listen to this album. I definitely encourage watching the music videos, and adds to the overall experience and will help you to stick with it if your hair is in that awkward-in-between-length.

I’ve decided to add a rating system in my recommendation, using a 1 to 10 scale, with 10 being the best.

This album gets 8.7 out of 10 Horse Print Dresses.

Listen on Youtube or Spotify.

HEADER IMAGE BACKGROUND VIA UNSPLASH
One thought on “Sunday Album Review – The Heart Speaks in Whispers by Corinne Bailey Rae

Leave a Reply

