sunday album review

Sunday Album Review – A Little Late by Loyle Carner

 

I have a few unspoken rules that I keep for myself when picking albums or EPs for the Sunday Review, one of which is that it has to be recent – within approximately the last 12 months. However when I heard Loyle Carner’s music, I had to make an exception.

Review Criteria

The Artist and their album EP name: Loyle Carner – A Little Late

Heard of/listened to before? No and no. I heard “Florence” in this commericial, and after being hooked on the song for a few days, found the EP.

What I did while listening: Browsed the internet.

Better suited for: A chill café playlist.

Top 3 Songs

1. October ft. Kiko Bun

2. Sea Shells

3. Pieces

Honorable mention: The Money ft. Rebel Kleff

Favorite Lyric:

“If you see me sleeping/
I dream of sneaking through into freedom/
so I’m leaving/
I’m fleeing, leaping, deep in to the green/
and forget a heathen/
’cause me? I need something to believe in”

From Cantona.

It’s usually difficult to pick the favorite songs, however this week it was the favorite lyrics. His words have a beautiful, poetic quality that often made me stop and replay.

Songs and musical artists this reminds me of:

The back track to “Pieces” reminds me of The Isley Brothers – For the Love of You. It may be a sample, but to be fair I’m not a real music critic so I don’t know.

SumoChief (ft. MADLean) – It Is What It Is

Digable Planets – The Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like Dat)

Would I recommend it?

Yes, if you are into musical fusions, rap, jazz, or both. As someone who enjoys both genres, I haven’t seen too many artists who combine them, not because there aren’t any but just because they don’t appear in my feed too often. When one did appear, I really enjoyed it, and I love putting this EP on in the background as I go about my day, as it never gets old despite the repeats. Even the emotionally raw songs have an air of calm because of the jazzy influences.

Rating [10 being the best]: This album gets 8.2 out of 10 pancakes.

Listen on Youtube or Soundcloud. I downloaded the EP for free on his website.

 HEADER IMAGE BACKGROUND VIA UNSPLASH
One thought on “Sunday Album Review – A Little Late by Loyle Carner

Leave a Reply

