sunday album review

Sunday Album Review – Chapters by Yuna

 

After going a while without listening to her, Yuna once again popped up in my feed, and I’m so very glad she did. The deluxe version of her album was available on TIDAL, and it was the last day of my free trial, so all fingers pointed to a review.

Review Criteria

The Artist and their album name: Yuna – Chapters (Deluxe Version)

Heard of/listened to before? Yes and yes, I always find myself going back to her track Lullabies.

What I did while listening: Online shopping for a new bag (I couldn’t find one, if you have suggestions for a unique messenger bag let me know.)

Better suited for: A relaxing day spent in an art studio.

Top 3 Songs

1. Places To Go

2. Lanes

3. Used to Love You

Honorable mention: Best of Me

Favorite Lyric:

“For as long as I can remember/

Like oil and water we collide/

But you don’t seem to want forever/

This adventure was only real to my eyes”

From Unrequited Love.

Songs and musical artists this reminds me of:

Rock This Baby to Sleep – Kate Miller-Heidke

Lianne La Havas – No Room for Doubt

Tori Kelly – Celestial

Would I recommend it?

Yes. Yuna has a beautiful, calming voice. Listening to the album was a relaxing experience, and I love the old-school R&B feel that a handful of the songs came with. Some of the songs sound incredibly similar which can be both good and bad, but this allows this to be great music for studying or other tasks where you need to focus.

Rating [10 being the best]: This album gets 7.7 out of 10 crushes.

Listen on Youtube or Spotify.
HEADER IMAGE BACKGROUND VIA UNSPLASH
Leave a Reply

