sunday album review

Sunday Album Review – 99¢ by Santigold

You know when you’ve got something you’ve meant to do, nothing urgent or pressing, but it keeps popping up in your life, undone? That’s how I feel about listening to Santigold, and a lot of albums, hence this blog column!

Review Criteria

The Artist and their album name: Santigold – 99¢

Heard of/listened to before? Yes, and kind of. I’ve heard bits and piece of her music, but never actively sat and listened.

What I did while listening: Updated my resume

Better suited for: This would be an awesome halloween party soundtrack

Top 3 Songs

1. Can’t Get Enough of Myself

2. Before the Fire

3. Chasing Shadows

Favorite Lyric:

“I had to swerve on little mama/

cause she out here with that llama/

Alpaca on my arm/

I’m stayin’ warm in any storm/

A super chef with the snow captain/

Out here, move it, make it happen”

From Who Be Lovin’ Me

Songs and musical artists this reminds me of:

M.I.A. – Paper Planes

Kelis – Scream

Phantogram – Black Out Days

Would I recommend it?

Hesitantly. I like this album, but it definitely has a sound and style that is too unique to pinpoint, which might not do it for some people. Give her music a try, especially her other albums. She has a cult following and there’s definitely a reason for it.

Rating [10 being the best]: This album gets 6.7 out of 10 Alpacas

Listen on Youtube or Spotify.

Pssst…. Did y’all listen to Frank Ocean’s new album? I want to hear what you think, leave a comment or tweet me @lefthvnded.

HEADER IMAGE BACKGROUND VIA UNSPLASH
Leave a Reply

