sunday album review

Sunday Album Review – H.E.R. Volume 1 by H.E.R.

I know, I know, it’s been a while. I’m in the process of reformatting some things around here, so if things look wonky – that’s why. I’ll post an update a little later, but for now, let’s just acknowledge that I’m back. Without further ado, here’s this week’s Sunday Album Review.

I found H.E.R. while scrolling through Tumblr, which seems to be my way of discovering nearly everything. I really enjoyed her subtle R&B vibes as well as the tracks she chose to sample and add to her gorgeous voice, so I had to add her to the list of albums to be reviewed.

Review Criteria

The Artist and their album name: H.E.R. – H.E.R. Volume 1

Heard of/listened to before? No and No

What I did while listening: Not gunna lie y’all, I originally listened to this so long ago I can’t remember what I was doing. Right now I’m sipping some delectable tea, though, does that count?

Better suited for: Driving tunes.

Top 3 Songs

1. Pigment

2. Losing

3. Wait for it 

Favorite Lyric:

“I promise with you/

the butterflies in my stomach are active/

they’re dancing, I’m feeling static/

want to get closer, like magnets”

from Losing

Songs and musical artists this reminds me of/were sampled:

Floetry – Say Yes

Gabriel Garzón-Montano – Six Eight

Daniel Caesar ft. Kali Uchis – Get You

Would I recommend it? Yes, I enjoyed this album, and including how short it is. This isn’t an album you have to drag yourself through, the songs slow you down enough for your to appreciate the chill beats, and next thing you know you’ve got it on repeat.

Rating [10 being the best]: 8 out of 10 secret identities.

Listen on Youtube.

Listen on Soundcloud.

Listen on Spotify.

Header image background via Unsplash
Leave a Reply

