Sunday Album Review – Awake and Pretty Much Sober by Violents & Monica Martin

As I mentioned previously in my Most Anticipated Albums post, I can’t remember how I discovered the band Phox, but once I did they became one of my all time favorite bands. I saw them live in Brooklyn, and it low key changed my life. Just a little. I vlogged the whole experience, which you can watch here: An NYC Vlog. Once I found out the the lead singer, Monica Martin, who I am high key in love with, had another musical project, I knew it would be amazing.

Review Criteria

The Artists and their album name: Violents and Monica Martin – Awake and Pretty Much Sober

Heard of/listened to before? I’ve heard of and loved Monica Martin’s music, but this is my first time experiencing the talent and tunes of Violents.

What I did while listening: Folded laundry, clicked around on Pinterest

Better suited for: This album is suitable for a variety of things, as Monica Martin’s voice is incredibly soothing, but at the same time some of the back tracks contrast starkly with her calming singing, in the most beautiful way. Due to the raw, gritty nature of the lyrics, I’d recommend writing something your passionate about while listening to this.

Top 3 Songs

1. Equal Powers

2. Awake and Pretty Much Sober

3. Second Class

Favorite Lyric:

“A seed of doubt/

has grown into a tree/

tangled and over grown/

it towers over me”

from Spark

Songs and musical artists this reminds me of:

Phox – Espeon

Purity Ring – Dust Hymn

Alina Baraz & Galimatias – Pretty Thoughts

Would I recommend it? Most definitely. If you or have ever been a Phox fan, this is different from what you’re used to, but Monica Martin keeps her stunning personality in everything she does, making this a project you’re sure to love. Even if you’ve never listened to a Phox song in your life (which, what are you doing? You should) this album takes you on an emotional, musical trip. Get ready for the ride.

 

Rating [10 being the best]: 8.9 out of 10 “sobrieties”.

Listen on Youtube.

Listen on Spotify.

HEADER IMAGE BACKGROUND VIA UNSPLASH
Leave a Reply

